Which Marvel Movies Can I Skip?

February 13, 2024 0 Comments

Marvel Movies Can I Skip

There are 32 movies in the Marvel Cinematic Universe, and wading through them all is a massive undertaking. That’s especially true if you want to watch them in the order that matters most, in order to understand who the glowing lady answering Nick Fury’s beeper at the end of Infinity War is. But even if you’re not a completist, there are some MCU flicks that don’t advance the main story much at all, and can be safely skipped.

Marvel is different from most other franchises, in that key events are interwoven across all the movies and TV shows. The studio has even designed some of its films to be standalone, though most fans will want to catch up on everything in the run-up to Watch order for Marvel Movies: Endgame. But that’s a lot of hours to wade through, particularly for those who aren’t completionists. Luckily, the MCU has plenty of filler.

The first step on any MCU rewatch is to figure out which ones don’t matter much at all. The first is easy: The Incredible Hulk, which was a huge movie for its time but now feels like a throwback to the 1980s and the days of Ed Norton. It’s still a decent movie, but it doesn’t really have any relevance to the main MCU plot.

Which Marvel Movies Can I Skip?

After that, it’s a little harder. Some of the 2016 movies like Doctor Strange and Civil War are necessary because they’re directly connected to the Infinity War and Endgame narratives, but others, such as Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2 and Thor: Ragnarok, can be safely skipped unless you’re really into those movies.

That leaves us with the 2017 and 2018 films. Those are where things get a little tricky, because Captain America: The First Avenger is essential (it’s the film that introduces Steve Rogers as an earnest science guy who fights HYDRA as Nazis and falls for Peggy Carter, then gets frozen in ice for 70 years before resurfacing as a superhero), while Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 1 and 2 are just fine but don’t have any real bearing on what happens in the main MCU story.

So, which ones can you skip if you’re trying to catch up for Endgame? Here are nine movies that you can ignore without missing anything important.

Phase Four introduces new heroes, explores different genres within the superhero genre, and expands the scope of the MCU with stories that delve into multiverses, mystical realms, and cosmic entities.

When considering the watch order for Marvel movies, viewers have the option to follow the release order, which allows them to experience the evolution of the MCU as it unfolded in theaters. Alternatively, some fans prefer a chronological approach, organizing the films based on the timeline of events within the MCU universe.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *